Weekend with Family | Cooking Baked Chicken Parmesan

Last week has been very busy for me. After work, I hardly made it outside. I couldn’t even see an early sunlight during those times. All I did first thing I open my eyes was to grab some snack and get back to work as soon as I had a chance. It was really tough. This may sound a little exaggerated but this isn’t supposed to be like this.

As freelance in graphic designing, I really don’t have to do thing this way. I am supposed to be taking my own sweet time to work at my own whim. I’m supposed to be smelling the roses whenever I want to. I’m not supposed to be in a rush and be on a “rat race” coz I’m a freelance for goodness’ sake. But this week was different. I put my heart on making things work on my latest client. He’s a friend of mine that’s why I wanted to finish things as soon as possible, at cleanest and most organized manner. So I was pretty crammed with the other pending work and I got caught up.

So when I had the chance and finished the work, I felt my muscles loosen up and finally I was able to relax. I then planned to visit the family on the weekend. As part of my “chilling” habit is browsing for different yummy recipes to try. I’m a trying-hard chef but surely a certified foodie.

chicken-parmesan

I saw this certain recipe from Pinterest and I thought it looks good. I love cheesy and chicken recipes. How much more if you can have the cheesy and the chicken in one? So I thought I should prepare one in my family visit in the weekend. Actually, the part of having it baked and the chicken breast as main meat ingredient that made me decide to choose this. I prefer chicken breast recipes coz they are easy and quite quick to cook.

I tweaked some of the ingredients in this recipe so the taste may be different if you try it too. But surely, my family loved it! You may want to try too.

Baked Parmesan Chicken Recipe

Cheesy dishes are always best served baked because of the wonderful way the cheese melts over the entire dish. You can taste how rich the food is and as such, baked cheese recipes are some of the tastiest meals that you and your family could try.

Ingredients

For Sauce:

  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • ¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • ½ tsp dried basil
  • ¼ tsp dried oregano
  • ¼ tsp sugar
  • Salt
  • Ground black pepper

For Chicken:

  • 3 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp white-wine vinegar
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp black pepper
  • 4 skinless chicken breast halves
  • ¾ cup of breadcrumbs
  • 1 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3 tbsp melted unsalted butter

Directions

For Sauce:

  1. In a large saucepan, heat the garlic and oil together over medium high heat.
  2. Stir until the garlic starts to sizzle.
  3. Add the tomatoes, basil, oregano, sugar, a pinch of salt and pepper while continuously stirring.
  4. Bring to a simmer until sauce thickens a bit.
  5. Taste the sauce, adjust seasoning if necessary.
  6. Cover and keep warm.

For Chicken:

  1. Preheat oven to 450°F.
  2. Cut each chicken breast into smaller pieces.
  3. With a meat pounder, pound the chicken pieces to flatten them to an even thickness.
  4. Whisk together mustard, vinegar, salt, and ¼ tsp of pepper in a large bowl.
  5. Add the chicken pieces, tossing to coat well.
  6. In another bowl, mix together the bread crumbs, grated cheese, and ¼ tsp of pepper.
  7. Mix well and add in the melted butter.
  8. Transfer to a shallow plate. Dredge the chicken 1 piece at a time in the crumb mixture.
  9. Press the crumbs in gently to adhere and transfer to a stick-free baking sheet.
  10. Bake in the middle of the oven until golden brown and cooked through for about 15 minutes.
  11. Ladle sauce over the chicken.
Leave a Reply

